FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Dress sashes and kimono ties

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Fashion-Incubator User Forum Forum Index -> CPSIA & Consumer Safety
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Natalie Minnick

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:18 am    Post subject: Dress sashes and kimono ties Reply with quote

Help! I don't know if my designs are safe to sell! I've been selling them for a few years now on etsy, and getting ready to take them wholesale to retail shops, but now I'm wondering if I need to alter them to CPSIA safety standards.

My onesies and jinbeis all have a tie on the side (mostly just decorative, since a snap keeps the kimono in place). All the info I can find relates to ties in the "neck" area and "waist". Would my ties be considered at the "waist", and should I eliminate them?? Darn, they look so cute with them on!
https://www.etsy.com/listing/99194709/baby-toddler-onesie-kimono-onesie-in

Right now I'm marketing my jinbei's (japanese kids casual wear), as pajamas, but I will be changing that to "playwear" since they don't meet the guidelines for pajama safety (ie. not snug, or flame resistant).

And my other concern is the obi sashes on my dresses. They are not attached, and LONG, so I'm guessing these are not going to be acceptable either??
https://www.etsy.com/listing/117098528/girls-dress-kimono-style-cameo-kimono

I'm feeling discouraged....looks like I have a lot of work to do before I'm ready to move onto the next step in growing my business. Any advise/thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!
Esther

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote